Prize Distribution 2014

Rainey Crest

Rainey Endowed presented its annual Prize Distribution on Thursday 18th September 2014. The school joined together in celebrating academic success. There were also musical interludes, The Headmaster’s Report and a very motivating speech from the Guest of Honour, Mr Paul Sweeny. The Prizes were presented by Mr Pearse Vacher from the Salters Company, London.



Read the rest of this entry »

Entrance Assessment 2014

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 13.18.33

Heads of School

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 08.49.40Front row – head boy – Andrew Conway and HG – Karen Lennox.
Back row – deputies- Left to right Jonathan Douglas, Scott Campbell, Tori Hastings, and Jemma Dawood.

Congratulations to our newly appointed Heads of School.


Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 19.49.23





Congratulations to Erin Mulholland, Form 5, who has just returned from International duty for the Northern Ireland U16 Team.
The girls  played Wales, away, winning all their matches.
Erin now trains with the team for the European Championships in Switzerland, in October.
Erin is also an excellent goal keeper in hockey and has trained with the Ulster U16 Hockey squad all summer!
Very well done




Glasgow Commonwealth Games 2014. This summer the Rainey Endowed was delighted to be part of the MLP trip to the Glasgow Commonwealth Games 2014.

The trip was expertly organized by Mr Geoff Burns from Magherafelt High School and Mr John McElholm from St Mary’s Grammar School.  The 50 strong group consisted of pupils, student leaders and teachers from the Rainey, Magherafelt High, St Mary’s and Sperrin Integrated.

Over the five day trip the pupils saw a variety of events including rugby 7’s, hockey, boxing, athletics, badminton, netball, gymnastics, swimming, squash and bowls.

Some pupils were lucky enough to get photographs and autographs from various athletes including the New Zealand Rugby 7’s Team, the Canadian Men’s Gymnastics team, the English Men’s Hockey Team including Iain Lewers from Belfast and Northern Ireland Marathon runner Gladys Ganiel . There was also great excitement when Prince William, Kate Middleton and Prince Harry turned up for the boxing and athletics events!

Photo Gallery


2014 School Games


The Sainsbury’s 2014 School Games is a multi-sport event for the UK’s elite young athletes of school age.

The Sainsbury’s 2014 School Games seeks to create an inspirational and motivational setting that not only provides our elite young sports people with the opportunity to thrive and perform at the highest levels, but encourages more young people to take part and succeed in sport. The Youth Sport Trust is proud to develop and organise the Sainsbury’s 2014 School Games, which is supported by National Lottery funding from Sport England.

The Rainey Endowed is once again, for the third year in a row, delighted to have the school represented at hockey in this National event by a Rainey pupil. This year Tori Hastings has been selected for the Ulster U18 Team and will head off to the Armitage Site part of the University of Manchester on Thursday. The school would like to wish her congratulations and a successful trip!


megan dscn0455 dscn0454 dscn0453 carson stormont
dsc08368 dsc08410